DBKL – 8 major roads in Kuala Lumpur renamed

8 major roads KL renamed

DBKL (Kuala Lumpur City Hall) to rename 8 major road in Kuala Lumpur starting it’s signboard installation which will begin today November 26, 2014.

-Jalan Duta renamed to Jalan Tunku Abdul Halim

-Jalan Khidmat Usaha renamed to Jalan Sultan Haji Ahmad Shah

-Jalan Ipoh (from Persimpangan Jalan Segambut to Persimpangan Jalan Pahang) renamed to Jalan Sultan Azlan Shah

-Persiaran Duta renamed to Persiaran Tuanku Syed Sirajuddin

-Jalan Khidmat Setia and Jalan Ibadah renamed to Jalan Sultan Mizan Zainal Abidin

-Lebuhraya Mahameru renamed to Lebuhraya Sultan Iskandar

-Persiaran Mahameru renamed to Persiaran Tuanku Ja’afar

-Jalan Semarak renamed to Jalan Sultan Yahya Petra


What road user thinks about the renaming of these 8 major roads:

“name is too long and it’s difficult to memorize”

“its a waste of money”

Maharaja: I personally wouldn’t want a road to be named after me. Could you imagine the masses, when the road is jammed with traffic, cursing me.” (picked from MalaysiaKini.com)

“Dewan Bandaraya should send out a poll with three names and let citizens choose. The name that gets the most popular vote will be selected. Simple.”



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *